rocksino post ad

In another of Fannie Flagg’s light fiction romps, Maggie Fortenberry, formerly Miss Alabama, hasn’t had the life she expected. Far from it. Instead of a husband and 2.5 children, Maggie lives by herself in a rental apartment. Instead of walking the runways of Paris or acting on a movie set in Hollywood, Maggie works at a struggling real estate agency. Maggie is done with life’s problems, and has decided to make her own exit. The only problem is that her best friend Brenda has decided that they have to go see the Whirling Dervishes, and Maggie can’t deny her friend one last outing together. What with one thing and another, Maggie’s plans for her ‘final exit’ keep being delayed!

This book is an excellent choice for someone who wants something light, funny, and heartfelt, without being too sickly-sweet. It does have a slow start, and I wondered when the book would pick up – which turned out to be about halfway through. The characters are wonderfully realized, dynamic, and lively, and the main character Maggie is realistic, relatable, and frustrating in turn. Fans of Flagg’s portrayals of the South and its culture will not be disappointed, as Flagg writes Birmingham, Alabama as a home of gentility and generosity. Lastly, the mystery plot in the second half of the book is interesting, with a twist that might surprise you. For fans of Fredrik Backman’s A Man Called Ove, I Still Dream About You is delightful, a sweet and funny light read that will charm you.

Review by Shannon Wood
Adult Services Librarian
Nordonia Hills Branch Library